What our Previous Guests have to say

Google+ Reviews

  • Nice place, safe and comfortable beds. Not very central and early in the morning you can't get out on your own because the gate is locked.

    Afra van der Markt, 4 Star - 2017/08/30

  • Best stuff! Very fair and very helpfull! Lovely dogs!

    Nadine Dersen, 5 Star - 2017/03/27

  • Nice house, had a big private room with a clean bathroom and balcony. Hostel offers free airport pickup but not drop off. Basic breakfast included. Very limited wifi, they turn it off ~10 pm and don't turn it back on until 9 am, and they don't turn it on upon request which was disappointed as we had some trip planning/booking to do.

    Sheeba Aggarwal, 4 Star - 2016/10/20

  • Great place. Great service from the staff and conveniently located, with a great view of the city skyline. It feels like a second home for me.

    Lonwabo Ngogela, 5 Star - 2016/04/21

  • the place is great, the host is nice, but didn't like the Internet limit of 21h. Had lots to do on wifi when I came. The beds are cheap and don't sleep well. and to many beds in a room and the light was to bright to sneak in and let my neighbours sleep in peace. also the toilets and showers are in the same room. There are more rooms to book anyway. But probably more expensive. I loved the dog and the surrounding in the hostel. looks great. Unfortunately not many ppl around at the time I was there, october. awesome kitchen and breakfast included

    elbrich elsenga, 4 Star - 2016/01/17

Website Reviews

  • Amazing place! Beatiful, clean and comfortable. I was alone for the first time to Joburg and Heinz and Chris gave me all the support I needed. Recommend!

    Julianna Silva, 3 Star - 2015/12/28

  • This is home away from home , one of the best place i have stayed in , wonderful staff , great location , Heinz is a wonderful host , always going extra mile to help you out . Thank you to all staff's & drivers too , made my best south african trip.

    Harish Shetty, 5 Star - 2014/09/11

  • It was an amazing stay with warm and welcoming staff who always went out of their way to help me --- the house and garden are spectacular and inviting and the bar area is brilliant to hang out in thank you thank you thank you Heinz

    Janine Peters, 5 Star - 2014/02/07

  • Stayed for 1 night in winter (2012 Aug). Had very good experience. Definitely one of the best hostels I’ve been to over the years. The owner, Heinz, is a very friendly and helpful, he treated the guests as friends and gave a lot of useful suggestions. It is a beautiful building and the room is exceptionally neat and clean, and very quiet. It’s a bit funny that the bathroom has no real doors, but i’m fine with that. I think I will stay here again in future, and would recommend to others too.

    Steven, 5 Star - 2012/09/13

  • it’s been a month since my visit to joburg and i’m still smarting over the wonderful stay and champagne breakfast farewell! heinz, chris….awesome. i’m sure we were the wackiest capetonians you’ve hosted. but a home away from home you shall remain. the best part of this excursion was knowing that at days’ end we’d be heading back to ghandis and closing the bar at very odd hours! there are many places that need to take a leaf out of your book. thank all of you so much……wait…think i’m gonna cry.

    Sidney Ryan, 5 Star - 2011/10/03

  • Nice place, clean and comfi. The kitchen was great! Thanks for a nice stay. Maru, Argentina.

    Maru, 5 Star - 2011/02/10

  • Heinz, Chris eu sou o Marcus estive no backpacker alguns dia durante a copa do mundo, com o ALBERT e mais 6 amigos Brasileiros, gostaria de agradecer pela estadía e pelo ambiente, um grande abraço à vocês. Marcus Brasil

    Marcus Brazil, 4 Star - 2010/11/20

  • the six of us camped out at ghandis on and off over 16 days in SA, and it honestly felt like a home away from home. Quiet, comfortable and warm, ghandis was joburg for us in many ways. Met some great guests there, all down for the world cup, and the bar was the perfect place to watch the action. heinz and chris are gems, and the dogs are great too! definitely wont look anywhere else when we get back to jozi….highly recommended!!

    Dev, 4 Star - 2010/06/30

  • Once again a wonderful stay, Heinz Chris and Ishmael never fail to deliver a hospitable stay. The cleanest backpackers in all of joburg..no expense spared..everything beautifully kept, home from home… Just fantastic! Love you guys xxxxxxxx

    Arifa Salam, 5 Star - 2010/05/12

  • Stayed at Ghandi’s for a week at the end of February 2010, and cannot compliment this place or its staff enough!! The whole house was a home for me, I instantly fell in love with the staff, who couldn’t do enough, Edith keeping the whole place spick and span, Ishmael and Chris that look after everythin to the finest detail, even remindin me to take my washin in incase Ish and Fluffy (resident pets) decided to have a party with it! - and of course Heinz, laid back, cool, rock n roll the coolest guy I met in Joburg!! Heinz, you are a treasure to Ghandi’s and Sam is very lucky to have you. Thank you for helping me through my personal dilemmas, and thank you for your warmth, kindness and always being such a coool guy!! you’re the best!! hate being back in the UK, but gotta save up so I can come visit you again, alone this time!, and do some serious backpacking!!! Thanks to Sam and his lovely family, and Heinz and yours!! Much love, best wishes….arifa xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Arifa Salam, 5 Star - 2010/03/01

Want to post a Review?

We're also registered with the following popular sites

We are also a City Sight Seeing location stop.